No Mad's Land | Around the World by bike - Travel, Peace, Nature, Society, ...
No Mad's Land

“It’s not merely a big journey: Being a nomad is a lifestyle.”

IMG_8005

On the road since 2011
50 UN states visited
58.000 Kms by bike
Currently in France
Heading to the unknown

 

So, it’s been already 7 years since I started this project to visit all the countries of Europe, and I am slowly reaching the goal. Only Iceland and the Principality of Andorra resist to me. It was planned for 2020 … The map below shows my route cycled since 2013.

 

Why ?

I found out about Heinz Stucke by chance one day. For fifty years this man rode his bike over more than 400,000 kilometers around the World. He become my model and showed me the way to absolute freedom. At the age of 28, not without fear, I also had this crazy desire:

VISIT EVERY COUNTRIES IN THE WORLD BY BIKE

 
 

The map below shows the progress of my project of visiting all the countries in the World (including the countries I have been to without the bike). It’s a bit demoralising to look at. The adventure is far from over. You can zoom in and click on each country to get more info.

 
 

A dream life ?

neige

 

“You are living the life of my dreams, you are too lucky, I envy you …”. This is what I hear quiet often. What do you think ? Is it easy to be a nomad, to have a bohemian life ? Waking up under the coconut trees, walking on a white sandy beach, diving in turquoise water at 28°C, this is holidays … Come on, let’s start from the beginning !!!

P1000346

P1150888recadrer

 

So long as you are suffering, you are alive.

With temperatures ranging from -18 to 59°C, I’ve known laughter and tears, intense emotions and pain. I’ve experienced thirst in Bulgaria and hunger at the four corners of Europe. Pedaling against a strong headwind, I’ve almost cried. Pushing the bike through the mud as well. I was so cold and shivering that I couldn’t even talk anymore in Norway. By -12°C in Bosnia I caught a bad cold with a 40°C fever. And the time I made the mistake of taking my gloves off for a few minutes, my hands got so cold that it took three hours to be them warm enough again to pack the tent away. Oh and I was forgetting: I almost died in Australia. In Poland I simply fainted from cycling through a heat wave. So, you still think it’s Heaven ? Well yes, because for me, living on the Road, is synonymous with Freedom of course but also Happiness and serenity. An very rich life …

 

IMG_9258

sable

 

Let finish by a little secret. Yes, I am scared. I’m not as brave as you think I am. The World doesn’t scare me, but some anxieties hold me back. For example, at the beginning, I was afraid that I would miss my family, so travelling beyond the oceans …

 

If your going round in circles in your life, you may as well go round the World.

océan

 

Join fast Facebook community to discuss with us !!!

Like facebook

No Mad's Land | Tour du Monde à vélo - Voyage, Paix, Nature, Société, …
No Mad's Land

“Plus qu’un grand voyage: Nomade, un mode de vie.”

IMG_8005

Sur la Route depuis 2011
50 pays ONU visités
57.000 Kms à vélo
Actuellement en France
En route vers l’inconnu

 

Voilà bientôt 7 ans que j’ai entamé ce projet de visiter tous les pays d’Europe, et je touche presque au but. Seuls l’Islande ainsi que la principauté d’Andorre me résistent encore. C’était planifié pour 2020 … La carte ci-dessous présente l’itinéraire pédalé depuis 2013.

 

Pourquoi ?

J’ai découvert Heinz Stucke un jour par hasard. Pendant 50 ans, cet homme a parcouru plus de 400.000 kilomètres en vélo autour de la Terre. Il est devenu mon modèle et m’a dévoilé le chemin de la Liberté suprême. A 28 ans, non sans peur, j’ai eu moi aussi cette envie un peu folle :

VISITER TOUS LES PAYS DU MONDE A VÉLO

 
 
 

Pour ceux qui aiment écouter plutôt que lire et ont envie de se laisser bercer par mon histoire ou de se laisser inspirer par mon parcours, découvrez mon interview ULTRA TALK réalisée fin 2019, une discussion en toute décontraction avec Arnaud MANZANINI.

 
 

Ci-dessous, cette carte, incluant mes précédents voyages sans vélo, montre l’état d’avancement de mon projet de visiter tous les pays du Monde. La regarder est un peu désespérant. L’aventure est loin d’être finie. Zoomez pour agrandir et cliquez sur chaque pays pour obtenir plus d’infos.

 
 

Une vie de rêve ?

neige

 

« Tu vis la vie de mes rêves, t’as trop de la chance, je t’envie … ». Voilà ce qu’on me dit régulièrement. Qu’en pensez-vous ? Etre nomade, avoir une vie de bohème, c’est facile ? Se réveiller sous les cocotiers, marcher sur une plage de sable blanc, plonger dans une eau turquoise à 28°C, ça c’est des vacances … Allez, reprenons depuis le début !!!

P1000346

P1150888recadrer

 

Tant que vous souffrez, c’est que vous êtes en vie.

En passant de -18°C à +59°C, j’ai alterné les rires, les larmes. les émotions fortes et les instants de souffrance. J’ai eu soif en Bulgarie, et faim à plusieurs reprises aux quatre coins de l’Europe. En pédalant contre le vent, j’ai parfois failli pleurer. En poussant le vélo dans la boue aussi. Transi de froid, claquant des dents, je ne pouvais plus parler en Norvège. Par -12°C en Bosnie, je suis tombé malade avec 40°C de fièvre. Et quand j’ai fait l’erreur de retirer mes gants quelques minutes, mes mains ont souffert trois heures avant de réussir à les réchauffer pour ranger ma tente. Ah, j’oubliais un détail, j’ai aussi failli mourir en Australie. En Pologne, ça va, je ne suis que tombé dans les pommes en pédalant sous la canicule. Alors toujours le Paradis ? Eh bien oui, parce ce que pour moi, vivre sur la Route, est synonyme de Liberté, de Bonheur et de sérénité. Une vie riche …

 

IMG_9258

sable

 

Finissons par une petite confidence. Oui, j’ai peur. Je ne suis pas si courageux que vous l’imaginez. Le Monde ne m’effraie pas, mais moi aussi, certaines inquiétudes me freinent. Par exemple, au départ, j’avais peur que ma famille me manque, alors traverser les déserts et les océans.

 

Quitte à tourner en rond dans la vie, autant tourner autour de la Terre.

océan

 

Rejoignez vite la communauté Facebook pour discuter avec nous !!!

Like facebook